On a Wet Summer’s Day

On a wet summers day
As the clouds gather strength
And the cold seeps slowly in
I wait

My hands grow cold
My patience wears thin
As I stand in the rain
Fighting against the wind

It seems odd to be here
Its certainly surreal
On the shores of Loch Lomond
I feel

There’s a calm in the air
As the wind dies away
Leaving a sense of foreboding
I see

Mountains surround me
Mountains and hills
Grey skies above me
the loch it is still

A great looming view
Fills me with awe
Holds me entranced
I thaw

Keeping look out ahead
Afraid to turn back
For fear of reprisal
Or losing the track

There in the distance
Stands hope mixed with fear
Shadowed with doubt
I hear

I move closer still
The atmosphere tense
as tension builds quickly
I sense

Smelling the air
And moving with haste
I step out to the future
I taste

About caledoniapoems

All comments to any of my written pieces are welcome - good, bad and even the downright ugly. My aim is to improve with each piece and you can help me achieve this.
This entry was posted in poetry, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On a Wet Summer’s Day

  1. summer says:

    a very pretty poem …… thanks for sharing it with the world !!

Leave a Reply

