Something And Nothing

Something And Nothing

There’s always something –
Always something going on;
Always something to prevent us doing what we want;
Always something more important;
Always something more we could do to help;
Always something.

Something is one of those things.
Something on your mind;
Something someone said or didn’t say;
Something else.

Something else is another matter altogether – but we won’t go into that now. Something stopped me;
Something made me think twice.

Something in the way he looked that made me think;
Something in the corner of my eye that made me turn around.
Something happened.

Sometimes something only means one thing –
It’s just something to think about.
Other times it can be a prelude to something more –
I only mentioned it because I thought you should know –
but there’s something else.

But we’re getting back to something else – which as I said is another thing altogether.

Sometimes we have to be aware of something, but mostly it’s nothing.

Nothing makes us feel better than something.
Nothing to worry about;
Nothing to say of any importance;
Nothing made me think there was a problem.
It was nothing – so why worry about it?

Now if it was something….
I’d tell you.

About caledoniapoems

All comments to any of my written pieces are welcome - good, bad and even the downright ugly. My aim is to improve with each piece and you can help me achieve this.
This entry was posted in poetry, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

