Whisky Trails and Tattoos

From the Ben
To the Loch
Through the Glen
Open space

Feel the peace
Sense the calm
Breathe it in
Open air

Hear the birds
See them fly
Watch them soar
Open skies

Castles, streets and tenements
All mingled into one
Whisky trails and Tattoos
Against a setting sun

From the Highlands to the islands
From the Bens to the shore
Scotland has a scenery
To make your heart soar

About caledoniapoems

All comments to any of my written pieces are welcome - good, bad and even the downright ugly. My aim is to improve with each piece and you can help me achieve this.
This entry was posted in poetry, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Whisky Trails and Tattoos

  1. Nick Jury says:

    I like this – any that’s from someone who doesn’t like poetry. Well done!

  2. Love the poem! Also the new look to the blog – I have the side pic hanging above the fire place in my writing room – to remind me of my Edinburgh chidhood.

  3. I love how you captured Scotland’s EVERYTHING in one poem. Well done, it’s really good. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Eileen mac says:

    Your writing knows no bounds, a truly awesome piece of writing from the hand of an angel and the soul of a gypsy the fear you create is just amazing.
    I am now reflecting on having sleepless nights perhaps you might want to check out my short story entitled “FLAME OF THE HIGHLANDS” it has some aberdeenshire doric dialect in the story and is a romantic scottish yarn. go to http://eileenmcbriar.blogspot.com

  5. Eileen says:

    I’m having a problem with leaving a comment on this page.

  6. Eileen says:

    Good luck with your wriitng mrs mack i’ll Take the high road am on my way to see Inverdarroch about his sheep.

  7. Eileen says:

    At last i can leave a comment sorry about the typo’s.You have written another epic poem here which had me in raptures, a real atmospheric tale,i’ll be having sleepless nights dreaming of the highland ghost who haunts Stirling castle or the character in my short novel Isobelle who is “THE FLAME OF THE HIGHLANDS’
    Visit http://eileenmcbriar.blogspot.com,i have used a wee bit of Aberdeenshire doric dialect in this story.Bon dit.

  8. eileenmcbriar says:

    You can also find that FLAME OF THE HIGHLANDS story at
    http://eileenmcbriar.wordpress.com

    Am too pleased that you are receiving more visits and comments on your site warm regards
    Eileen Mcbriar

Leave a Reply

