Days of Old

When it rains, it rains a lifetime,
Heavy skies of shadow grey,
When it rains, it rains forever,
Amongst the sorrow, let me lay.

Let me lay, in fields of sunshine,
Wrap me up in fields of gold,
Keep me warm, in days that linger,
Telling tales as dreams unfold.

Dreams of more, of something better,
Of days that stretch, of days that last,
To make each minute count for something,
To take us back to times now past.

A simpler time, when life was easy,
When life was driven by life itself,
A slower pace, too oft forgotten,
For a life thats driven by power and wealth

The city sleeps but for no-one,
The rain falls as if on cue,
Dreams are left by the wayside,
As the day – begins anew.

About caledoniapoems

All comments to any of my written pieces are welcome - good, bad and even the downright ugly. My aim is to improve with each piece and you can help me achieve this.
This entry was posted in poetry, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Days of Old

  1. cinnamon blues says:

    Beautiful, really great structure, imagery and sense. Loved reading it.

  2. abichica says:

    amazing..very beautiful.. πŸ™‚

  3. A very refreshing piece of poetry which makes us all realise that life is not about chasing our tale and growing up fast but instead we need to appreciate the good things in our lives.
    The time has gone when it was about quality not quantity when there was humility not greed and self preservation.Another remarkable insight in to a brilliant mind of truth and philosophy.

  4. You are more than welcome hunny bunny

  5. Your poem casts a mood like the rain that rains all day

  6. I share your sentiments and you’ve expressed them beautifully here. Well written πŸ™‚

  7. I often long for those days of old: “A simpler time, when life was easy, When life was driven by life itself, A slower pace, too oft forgotten”. I’ve often wished I could have lived in another long ago time. Your poem makes me wish it again. Wonderful writing.

  8. Jingle says:

    reflective piece, love the relaxing attitude,
    Happy Rally.

  9. The rhythm really carries this beautifully. It drew me in, and made me want to read more and more, though some of the feelings you’re expressing are difficult to be with.

  10. Kay Salady says:

    Poignant and melancholy, this poem speaks of the stark reality that time waits for no one . . . it slips right through our fingers. Brilliant writing!

  11. wordcoaster says:

    Love your first line, really grabs you and pulls you through the rest of the poem πŸ™‚

  12. Yes, please let life go back to the way it used to be! I am too slow for the modern age.

  13. I’m surprised that you haven’t decided to block me dear it is indeed i who is she who is the writer on here and there,glad we have cleared that up.

  14. Catie Eliza says:

    “Dreams of more, of something better,
    Of days that stretch, of days that last,
    To make each minute count for something,” I love these lines… Dreams are so important. :] xx

  15. I’m just being mischievous, oh well time to move on with the day.Congratulations on your new I-tunes project,more recognition from a great poet is forthcoming i feel.
    Am just off in to Edinburgh to see how the festival planning is coming on then hopefully my favourite National art gallery will be open for business just off Princess Street.

  16. Beautiful poem and imagery! It really brings me in and takes me to a place in my own life.

  17. Thank you and i managed to get a glimpse of the happy couple now that was a right royal treat.Take care and thanks for your kindness and understanding words of reason.

  18. Raivenne says:

    Ay, here am I – a city dweller, somewhere who swears it often rains when I am depressed, a dreamer and believer in beginning anew, even as I try to make each minute last – reading your words that speak deeply to me. Oh, how I loved this!

  19. kez says:

    great flow to this piece and a beautiful poem ….thank you for sharing

  20. bendedspoon says:

    This is sooo beautiful. I can’t resist myself be wrapped in the fields of gold — and dream some more πŸ™‚

  21. I love the flow of this poem, reading it was a real pleasure and I certainly get where you are coming from wonderful

  22. Almost tactile imagery.Beautiful work!

Leave a Reply

