Crushed

Crushed by a lie,
Torn in time,
Held in the hurt,
A mountain to climb.

Reaching for reason,
Searching the why’s,
Looking for something,
And trusting the skies.

The coldness of tone,
The crispness of view,
Leads me to wonder,
If I really knew you.

Turning my back,
On one and on all,
Becoming a recluse,
Afraid of the fall.

Searching for no-one,
Looking at all,
Seeing the flaws,
Ignoring the call.

A dusting of hope,
Revealed through the years,
Settles on the doubts,
Of those wasted tears.

About caledoniapoems

All comments to any of my written pieces are welcome - good, bad and even the downright ugly. My aim is to improve with each piece and you can help me achieve this.
This entry was posted in poetry, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Crushed

  1. How we are always struggling with one another. May be we should just give up the struggling for good. Give a hug ( if possible) and then follow each our own destiny to find new people on that path. OK?

  2. slpmartin says:

    The poem brought back some of the emotions of my first love…now but a memory….enjoyed your poem.

  3. Cherlyn says:

    Ahhh this makes me think of….pretty much every relationship I’ve ever had. Ouch :P. Other than that, it’s a great poem, it definitely is relatable to most people! Thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

    Here’s mine: http://cursemymetalbody.wordpress.com/2011/10/20/poetry-thursday-70/

  4. poetryroad says:

    Powerfully written with such emotion!

  5. bendedspoon says:

    This was me several sleepless nights ago. Great write πŸ™‚

  6. Glad you ended this with a bit of hope. There is always hope!
    Very nice write. Well done.

    You might enjoy this one: http://charleslmashburn.wordpress.com/2011/10/19/perfect-love/

  7. A.B. Thomas says:

    Very well crafted piece, it harkens me to those times I secluded myself from the world with total resolve to let the wounds fester instead of heal

  8. a fundamental topic tackled here.
    hope is priceless, keep it up.

Leave a Reply

