Two Seasons In Black

Shades of autumn,
Twists of brown,
Leaves of all colours,
Lay on the ground.

Frosty mornings,
Rainy days,
Darker evenings,
Winter greys.

Hunkering down,
An early night,
Watching the snow fall,
Soft and white.

Autumn is here,
Winter on his back,
Drawing the nights in,
Two seasons in black.

About caledoniapoems

All comments to any of my written pieces are welcome - good, bad and even the downright ugly. My aim is to improve with each piece and you can help me achieve this.
This entry was posted in poetry, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Two Seasons In Black

  1. slpmartin says:

    Fine poems like this make me miss winter and fall…all but SoCal does have it +s…winter beach days. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. It’s a lovely poem. And I am fond of the two seasons in black. (At least in my comfortable circumstances).

  3. expatinCAT says:

    A well-written seasonal poem ๐Ÿ™‚ // Peter.

  4. Beautiful words of darkness to read as the light fades and the cold dank air of winter creeps in all around.

    Love it.

    Patrick @McTheMac

  5. Hope says:

    love the rhythm. love the rhyme. Great time of year and I love the changing of the seasons as long as winter doesn’t come early and leave late. ๐Ÿ™‚
    great poem!

  6. Eric says:

    I dig seasonal poetry which invokes nature’s changes like this, especially autumn. Nice job!

  7. Mandy Calvin says:

    I can completely relate, as Iโ€™m slowly watching the days become shorter and the approach of winter. Good poem with a great rhyme scheme.

  8. Short Poems says:

    Such a poignant piece of work…enjoyed it very much

    take care
    marinela

  9. Bupinder Singh says:

    nice work liked your poem.. thanks.. happy rally
    here is my link
    http://bupinder21.wordpress.com/2011/10/16/life-a-compromise-ii/

  10. incredible.

    Happy Rally.

    ๐Ÿ˜‰

  11. Andy says:

    Hello.
    There’s something special about autumn…the reds, golds, oranges, browns & the crispness in the air. It’s my favorite time of year.
    I’d rather settle for autumn over winter any day, not looking forward to the snow in my neck of the woods.

    Thanks for sharing.

    Bashful Lady

  12. terri0729 says:

    “Hunkering down,
    An early night,
    Watching the snow fall,
    Soft and white.” My favorite part was this! I live in the country and I love the mornings/nights when the snow is new and untouched. Great Job!! Blessings, Terri

  13. Ina says:

    Autumn is special and so is this poem

  14. Jack Edwards says:

    Brilliant seasonal poem

  15. mbwilliams says:

    Simple and elegant…loved it!

  16. Morning says:

    This is beautiful. love autumn related piece, well done.

    ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Sorry for the delay in response – I’ve only just seen your comments and didn’t receive an email alert. Thank you for your kind words – I really appreciate your feedback ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

