A Day In June

To me –
A day in June.
To me –
It’s gone too soon.

To try –
And walk the path.
To try –
And bear the wrath.

As days slip into years,
As years slip by too fast,
As time slips through my hands,
I slip back into the past.

To follow all my dreams,
To find a better place,
Reliving times gone by,
My steps I do retrace.

And calling all the while,
Today – to here and now,
Bringing me to the present,
Pulling me back – somehow.

And in a lucid moment,
I recognise your face,
I see the love we share,
As you and I embrace.

But in that fleeting second,
I quickly turn away,
Leaving you to wonder,
If I’ll be back today.

To me a day in June,
To you a last goodbye,
To life and all it’s worth,
To a teardrop from my eye.

About caledoniapoems

All comments to any of my written pieces are welcome - good, bad and even the downright ugly. My aim is to improve with each piece and you can help me achieve this.
This entry was posted in poetry, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Day In June

  1. drakonig says:

    So beautiful a portrait!

  2. Ruchira says:

    How do you do it? Such simple, effortless rhyming, such beautiful words…

Leave a Reply

