Years End

As the countdown begins,
2011 I wish you farewell,
I will look back at this year,
As the nightmare from hell.

From the start you had me beat,
With a break to the heart,
Leaving me vulnerable and weak,
And ripe for attack.

As days turned to weeks,
And months turned to spring,
I saw a glimmer of hope,
I felt my heart start to sing.

But you had a plan,
And an evil one at that,
Well concocted and flawless,
I’ll give you credit for that.

And so as I struggled,
Now weaker, through summer,
Aspirations were lost,
‘You are winning’, I murmur.

I felt my life dipping further
Now nearing the bottom,
As the days they drew in,
Summer turning to autumn.

Winter arrived,
with a flurry of snow,
The season of goodwill,
Made my heart all aglow.

For I see now the end,
Of a terrible year,
I will wave you goodbye,
With a heart full of cheer.

Bring on a fresh start,
2012 – ‘what’s that you’re saying?
I can’t quite make it out?
Something about the Mayan’s?

About caledoniapoems

All comments to any of my written pieces are welcome - good, bad and even the downright ugly. My aim is to improve with each piece and you can help me achieve this.
This entry was posted in Poems, poetry, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Years End

  1. Joanne says:

    Exactly! Goodbye 2011! Brought a tear to my eye, hope next year is full of joy ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. slpmartin says:

    Good thing the Mayan calendar stuff is more fiction than fact. ๐Ÿ™‚ Make it ..a great year…full of love!

    • Exactly – even the Maya people have tried to explain that it doesn’t mean the end of the world – but some people want to run with it – sadly mainly media types. Have a super 2012 yourself.

  3. Love the ending! ๐Ÿ™‚ Sorry it’s been a b***h of a year – here’s to 2012. Slainte!

  4. Great poem ,hope this new year is better for you.

Leave a Reply

