Tears

I’ve been blind
To all that surrounds me
Crushed and hurt
By all those around me

A single teardrop
Starts to fall
As the truth breaks down
A well hidden wall

Laid bare it steals
The lies within
And rips at the heart
Of everything

Now as the tears
Flow free and fast
I’m gripped with a fear
Of losing the past

Holding tight
To all that love
When suddenly
It’s no longer enough

And the tears remind me
Of a hurt long ago
When I vowed there and then
To hide in the shadow

And now clearly I see
Through salty tears
No lesson was learned
After all these years

About caledoniapoems

All comments to any of my written pieces are welcome - good, bad and even the downright ugly. My aim is to improve with each piece and you can help me achieve this.
This entry was posted in Poems, poetry, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tears

  1. no lesson needs to be learned, because you will love again, and eventually get it right. Enjoyed this. check out some of my work as well 🙂

  2. slpmartin says:

    Strange how what we thought we’d never forget gets lost in the pattern of life…enjoyed your poem.

Leave a Reply

