Night

Call me after midnight,
As I walk the night alone,
Tortured in my visions,
Of a heart made out of stone.

Can’t sleep for fear of you,
Playing havoc with my head,
In dreams you say you love me,
Still I wake to an empty bed.

Where are you now I wonder?
As I sit the night out here,
Can’t close my eyes to sleep,
With you no longer near.

My memories are fading,
As I think of days now past,
Twisted day dreams in the night,
And the images never last.

It’s a lonely place – ‘the night’,
Time ticking by so slow,
I can watch the city sleep,
But how I miss you so.

And as the night comes to an end,
I lay down my head to sleep,
The daylight rushes in,
And my eyes begin to weep.

Another night now over,
As the days turn into years,
I know that I will see you,
As I sleep amongst the tears.

About caledoniapoems

All comments to any of my written pieces are welcome - good, bad and even the downright ugly. My aim is to improve with each piece and you can help me achieve this.
This entry was posted in Poems, poetry, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Night

  1. slpmartin says:

    The night without one’s love seems so very long indeed…enjoyed the poem much.

Leave a Reply

