I Thought I Saw You Today

I thought I saw you today,
I know I didn’t,
I wished it was you today,
As I stood hidden.

From where I stood,
You looked the same,
And for a moment,
I whispered your name.

I thought I saw you today,
I know it’s not true,
But as I watched,
My heart it grew.

To see your face,
To watch you smile,
To walk with you,
And talk a while.

I thought I saw you today,
It made me sad,
I wish I’d saw you today,
I really wish I had.

About caledoniapoems

All comments to any of my written pieces are welcome - good, bad and even the downright ugly. My aim is to improve with each piece and you can help me achieve this.
This entry was posted in Poems, poetry, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Thought I Saw You Today

  1. This is so touching. I like the repetition of “I thought I saw you today, it impacts on the sadness. Nicely done 🙂

Leave a Reply

