Fear

Too afraid to say it,
Too emotional to play it,
To close to lose it,
Too slow to use it.

I care, I do,
I swear, I do,
I felt it too,
Did you?

The here and now,
The why and how,
Don’t matter now,
Do you?

The stab of pain,
The look of disdain,
The feeling of shame,
Remind me.

Why I batten the hatch,
Put on the latch,
Deny any match,
Completely.

It’s safer this way,
It paves the way,
For a carefree day,
Discretely.

Should I meet your gaze,
Look upon your face,
Share a warm embrace,
Freely.

I will hold that dream,
Till it rips the seam,
Hear the muffled scream,
Discreetly.

About caledoniapoems

All comments to any of my written pieces are welcome - good, bad and even the downright ugly. My aim is to improve with each piece and you can help me achieve this.
This entry was posted in Poems, poetry, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fear

  1. slpmartin says:

    Brought to mind images of a secret relationship…a most interesting read.

Leave a Reply

