Sunset Mountain

The green of the hills,
The blue of the skies,
The pain in your heart,
And that look in your eyes.

Filled with such sorrow,
Treading with care,
Afraid of the emotions,
That carry you there.

Off to the mountains,
Wandering the mire,
Losing all track of time,
Until your heart it does tire.

Of the city below,
And the people therein,
And the effort involved,
And the noise and the din.

As the sun starts to set,
And the air it turns cold,
And the lights on the city,
Start to twinkle in gold.

Walking more slowly,
With pain in my heart,
Once more to the city,
To play out my part.

I dream of the day,
I can wander once more,
Amongst the mountains and hills,
Where my heart it can soar.

About caledoniapoems

All comments to any of my written pieces are welcome - good, bad and even the downright ugly. My aim is to improve with each piece and you can help me achieve this.
This entry was posted in Poems, poetry, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sunset Mountain

  1. slpmartin says:

    I have often wondered if some of the players on the city’s stage recognize they are but actors…hope you mountain dreams come true.

Leave a Reply

