The Solace and The Sunset

At the rivers edge I sit,
As day turns into night,
The solace and the sunset,
Fill my soul with light.

The water slowly winding,
Around the mountainside,
Silence fills the air,
As the sun begins to hide.

And as I sit there still,
The night is growing cold,
I look towards the heavens,
To a sky of pink and gold.

The scenery now a blur,
As memories fill my eyes,
And once again I’m lost,
In a world of love and lies.

A flicker from the past,
Causing me to shiver,
Shakes me to the now,
And how I wish you’d never ~

Crushed my heart with love,
Filled my head with hope,
Led me to a place where,
without you I can’t cope.

About caledoniapoems

All comments to any of my written pieces are welcome - good, bad and even the downright ugly. My aim is to improve with each piece and you can help me achieve this.
This entry was posted in Poems, poetry, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Solace and The Sunset

  1. slpmartin says:

    How well you build to the final emotions…wonderful poem IMHO.

Leave a Reply

