Can You?

Can you crush a heart that’s broken,
One that’s twisted, torn in two?
Can you bleed a lifeless soul,
One that’s meant to be with you?

Can you stifle all the love?
Suffocate the caring mind?
Drain the thoughts of all we shared,
Killing anything that’s kind.

Can you while away the hours,
Chasing shadows of the past?
Can you wipe out all the good times,
Ones we swore would last and last?

Can you simply walk away,
After all we shared together?
Is it easy to let go,
When we said we’d last forever?

Can you tell me you don’t care,
Can you say that you don’t love me?
As you turn to walk away,
Can you see how much you’ve hurt me?

Can I bear to be alone and broken,
Will I ever love again?
Can I live my life in the shadows,
Someone tell me where and when.

Can I crush a heart that’s broken
One that’s trusted, now torn in two?
Can I wipe away the tears,
And the memories of you?

About caledoniapoems

All comments to any of my written pieces are welcome - good, bad and even the downright ugly. My aim is to improve with each piece and you can help me achieve this.
This entry was posted in Poems, poetry, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Can You?

  1. slpmartin says:

    Questions each lover seems to ask at the end of a relationship.

Leave a Reply

