The Dream of Something New

Too many days are lost,
On dreams of something new,
Fleeting thoughts are born,
That will never make it through.

Wasted moments in time,
Shards and shreds of hope,
Tiny trinkets of trivia,
That help you to cope.

A glance; a smile; a whisper,
That house upon the hill,
The dream of space and silence,
And the struggle to fulfil.

The constraints of life abound,
With such energy and force,
Suppressing all your dreams,
Rooting them out at the source.

And in one fell swoop,
Crashing to the floor,
Your dreams are shattered,
Too painful to ignore.

And so the heart is hardened,
And the soul is slowly sinking ,
Dreams are locked away,
With it too the hurt of thinking.

Distanced from desires,
Isolated from all wishes,
Choking in past chances,
You dream of all the near misses.

About caledoniapoems

All comments to any of my written pieces are welcome - good, bad and even the downright ugly. My aim is to improve with each piece and you can help me achieve this.
This entry was posted in Poems, poetry, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Dream of Something New

  1. I wonder at the use of the word “you.” It seems to me that what you’re really saying is “I” while trying to appeal to your reader’s sense of investment. I think that the poem would alter a little, and become stronger, if you we’re to use the personal pronoun. You do not know about my “tiny trinkets of trivia that help me to cope” and we both know that. I’m not terribly interested in hearing you guess, and the image is not real to me. However, you do know about you’re coping mechanisms, and I am interested in those. Why not write what you know, and make the image something that your reader can get a grip on?

    • Thanks for reading my poem ( and for following my poetry blog). I take on board everything that you’ve said and appreciate you taking the time to post a comment – perhaps my next poem will be better. Thanks again 🙂

  2. slpmartin says:

    How well the verse captures those emotions of what we feel when we fail at our dreams.

  3. starscraper99 says:

    Reblogged this on Land Of Reblogs.

Leave a Reply

